PCOS and Me

Hi everyone reading this!

Chances are, if you have clicked on this, you already know what PCOS is. If you don’t thats okay too, I’ll tell you what it’s about.

PCOS stands for Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome and it affects millions of girls and women worldwide. As the name suggests, it is the condition of several cysts developing in the ovaries. This creates fertility problems and is often the cause of irregular periods.

To regulate periods birth control pills may be prescribed by the doctor and if you are over weight, you may be asked to work towards a healthier Basal Metabolic Index(BMI)

“Oh great! It seems pretty simple to deal with PCOS!” you might think happily. But truly it’s not as easy as it seems.

Infertility is only one of PCOS’s effects. Hirsutism, acne, difficulty losing weight and hormone imbalance may also simultaneously occur.

Among the many side effects of PCOS, is a lower metabolism rate, which makes it harder to lose weight. You can improve your diet by reducing calories and work out a few days a week, but it will usually be a slower process in comparison with people without PCOS.

Excess hair growth on the face and body is an accompaniment with PCOS due to increase in the body’s testosterone levels. I used to feel very insecure about myself because of this, but as I grew older I realized that people who care about you, don’t mind if you’ve got a little excess keratin.

I’ve had PCOS almost my whole life, and the most uncomfortable bit for me was the acne it caused. There were pimple like eruptions on the face, back and arms. I got a lot of stares and unwarranted advice, but honestly there was little that I could do. Creams and lotions only affect the outside. The root cause, PCOS, has to be addressed first. After starting treatment the acne has got much better, although it hasn’t disappeared completely.

I was asked to stay away from fizzy drinks, fast food, sweets, ice cream and fried foods. Instead it was recommended that I eat two cucumbers before every meal so I’d eat less carbs. I was quite a devastated fourteen year old girl when I heard this. I realized I had no choice but to comply if I wanted to help my situation. If forgoing a piece of chocolate cake meant I’d see an improvement, I’d definitely do what it takes.

I started playing a lot of badminton, hoping the running around will help. My parents also bought me a bicycle—I’d never learned how to ride as a child—-and I spent the summer learning how to cycle—both figuratively and literally. 🙂

My condition improved slowly when I exercised regularly, but as soon as I stopped I would quickly gain weight. Increased hunger is one of PCOS’s effects as well. That coupled with a really slow metabolism rate, puts you pretty much at the mercy of your own self control.

I once gained 7 kg in a week, because I ate unrestricted at a wedding party and didn’t exercise as much.

PCOS means having to say no to a lot of things. You need to be choosy about what you eat and squeeze time out of your schedules for some rigorous exercise. But when you do all these things—believe me you’ll feel much better. A fruit salad may not be what a hot brownie with ice cream is, but its naturally delicious and low on calories—meaning you can have more than one helping without feeling guilty.

Image issues will always be there, stubborn hair on your face that regrows almost as soon as you pluck them off or the fat on your tummy that simply won’t go away. The best way to feel good is to accept when there’s nothing more you can do. Your true friends and family probably don’t notice at all.

Having PCOS isn’t the end of the world. It is in fact a reminder to live your life to the fullest—eat healthy, exercise, feel good about yourself and go fulfill your dreams.

There’s air in your lungs and a beating heart that pounds beneath your chest. There’s blood in your veins and a smile on your face.

PCOS has got absolutely nothing on you.

67169583-silhouette-of-a-happy-girl-dancing-in-celebration-of-the-new-year-2017-at-sunset-stock-photo

Cheers to that!

Thanks for reading! 🙂

 

P.S. Have you suffered from PCOS or know anyone who has? Do share your story in the comments below or drop a message. It’s feels great to know you’re not alone.

~

15 thoughts on “PCOS and Me

    1. Hi Lauren!
      I just read The Wait of Thirty and really connected with your story. PCOS can sometimes have a bigger impact on our minds than on our bodies. Your strength and courage is inspiring. Thank you so much for sharing. 🙂

      *running helps me a lot too, though avoiding dairy and gluten has been rather difficult lately (I really like pizza). I’ll keep trying though 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I wish PCOS could be more openly discussed since it’s considered the leading cause of infertility. I’m grateful to see someone like you be brave in sharing about your journey! And please don’t think I have it all figured out. Decaffeinated green tea after a less than ideal dietary choice, for example, really helps 😊 Good luck to you!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. PCOS awareness is increasing everyday thankfully. Hopefully PCOS discussions will soon be as freely done as discussions on other common long term ailments like diabetes.

        I don’t think its possible for anyone to figure out PCOS completely 😀 it’s so unpredictable!

        Thank you! I’ll surely try the green tea 🙂

        Like

  1. Hi Lauren,

    I too have PCOS, but frustratingly enough, I didn’t find out until about two years ago despite YEARS of obvious symptoms. My husband and I are about to undergo our first round of IVF as a result of PCOS inspired fertility issues. Thanks for this post. I’m really trying to make sure I take care of myself as we go through this. This post was exactly what I needed. If you’re interested, you can follow our story here: https://pcospityparty.blog/

    Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

